I’ve never been married to a Beatle

Since Shawn introduced himself yesterday, I guess it’s time to introduce myself. My name is Heather Mills (no, I am not Paul McCartney’s ex-wife). The 2012 season will be my third with the Cougars, and fourth in minor league baseball. My title is Promotions Coordinator, but like Shawn alluded to, if you work in minor league baseball you become a jack of all trades.

I got my start in minor league baseball back in January of 2009. I was a senior at Southeast Missouri State University majoring in Sport Management and needed an internship in order to graduate. I knew that I wanted to work in baseball and I was lucky enough to get an internship with the Memphis Redbirds, the AAA affiliate of the St. Louis Cardinals. I spent the entire season with them, and even got a Pacific Coast League Championship ring. You’d probably recognize a lot of the names from that team, since they helped St. Louis win the World Series last year.

I grew up in St. Elmo, a small town of 1500 in southern Illinois (my graduating class in high school was 28 students). St. Elmo is right in the middle of St. Louis Cardinals territory, but I was lucky enough to attend my first baseball game at Wrigley Field and fell in love with the Cubs, but even more so with the game of baseball. A few years later I realized you could make a career out of working in baseball. While attending SEMO, I thought I wanted to work in the majors, but during my time in Memphis I grew to love minor league baseball.

After my internship in Memphis ended, I was lucky enough to land a full time job here in Kane County. I spent the last two seasons in the ticket office, before moving over to the promotions side last fall. I’m very excited for the 2012 season to start.

Here are a few more random facts about me. When I’m not planning theme nights, on-field contests, or working games, you’ll find me riding my bike on the Fox River Trail, in my kitchen baking, working on a sewing project or curled up with a good book. Two of my greatest inspirations are Jim Henson and Bill Veeck. I’m a self-proclaimed nerd who loves trivia and random facts. I love Harry Potter. Oh, and I really get into theme nights, so if you show up to a Thursday or Friday game this season (which I hope you do), you’ll likely see me in costume.

Be sure to check out Heroes & Villains Night on June 29!

 Spider Girl 2011

We have two Star Wars Nights in 2012!  May the Fourth Be With You (May 4) & September 1st.

Princess Leia, Star Wars Night 2011

I hope to see you out here soon!

~HM~

About Kane County Cougars

The Kane County Cougars are the Class-A Affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

